RUBI GIRL INTRODUCES “TULLE ROMANCE”!

ROMANCE IS BLOSSOMING, LOVE IS FASHIONABLE and Valentine’s day isn’t even here yet!! House of Rubi is proud to introduce “Tulle Romance” a modern day wedding dress and second place winner of the Sewing and Craft Alliance, National Sewing Month’s Sew For The Love of It Contest!

http://www.nationalsewingmonth.org

HOUSE OF RUBI by Tenneh Wilkins "Tulle Romance"

HOUSE OF RUBI by Tenneh Wilkins "Tulle Romance"

STORY OF THE ROMANCE

“I was born to design and sew! This dress is called “Tulle Romance” and is dedicated to my mother and grandmother. The whole dress is made out of regular 88 cents per yard tulle, stitched onto a cotton fabric base. Creating different textures with fabric is fun and innovative. So, to create the top, I braided strips of tulle and hand stitched them in rows onto the bodice. As a child in Monrovia Liberia, my mother would always braid my hair for school. I love the feeling and texture of braids and many times apply them to various fabrics. Usually I use organza, but this was my first time using tulle! Also as a child I my grandmother and I would pleat and spread open2-ply tissue paper to create decorative flowers. Therefore, for the dress bottom, I folded and pleated rows of tulle to create a ruffled fluffed flower effect. The whole project took about 30 yards of 45″ wide tulle. I used white tulle because I wanted the dress to have a modern wedding dress appeal. Also, I used white to show my grandmother “who is pestering me to get married” that even though I’m not making an effort to find a husband, at least I’ve made an effort to create ideas for a wedding dress! I cut a heart on the dress back bodice to symbolize abundant love for my family and for SEWING! ”  (Tenneh Wilkins)

House of Rubi "Tulle Romance"  by Tenneh Wilkins  (Top)

House of Rubi "Tulle Romance" by Tenneh Wilkins (Top)

House of Rubi "Tulle Romance"  by Tenneh Wilkins  (Bottom)

House of Rubi "Tulle Romance" by Tenneh Wilkins (Bottom)

Keep posted for more updates on Tulle Romance!

Also check out the House of Rubi website and the latest cultural blog “Rubi Girl Goes to Puerto Rico!”

http://www.facebook.com/HouseofRubi

9 thoughts on “RUBI GIRL INTRODUCES “TULLE ROMANCE”!

Leave a Reply

