RUBI GIRL SHARES HER INSPIRATIONS!

During my childhood and teenage years, I used to draw a lot.  Yet, as I grew older I became disenchanted with everything (aka depression) and stopped drawing!  About 3 years ago I pulled out my old sketchbooks and my palm began to itch.  I picked up a pencil, began to sketch, and it felt like coming home.

Images from my Sketchbook

IKA IN PROGRESS

This is an Illustration of Ika. She is one of my greatest friends and soul sister.

IMAGES FROM RUBI GIRL - TENNEH SKETCH BOOK

The first pic is Ika, middle pic is a random dude I saw in Borders book store, and the third is Meagan, a previous roommate

I’ve always been fascinated with roses.  One day, as a child sitting on my grandmother’s front porch, Auntie Rubitha pulled out her notebook and sketched a lovely rose in full blossom.  It was so amazing to me because I had been trying to draw a rose all day and it looked like a scribbled HOT MESS!  Of course I added that to my mental list of “Reasons Why Auntie Rubitha Is So Cool.” 😀 Since then I’ve been a doodling rose on any piece of paper I get my hands on!

Rose From My Sketchbook

RUBI GIRL-ROSE ILLUSTRATED BY TENNEH

A favorite childhood song of mine is “Sweet Red Rose” by the Liberian Singer Harry E. I loved that song so much that my mother began calling me her Red Rose.

Some have asked, “Why did you name your brand House of Rubi?”  Today I shall spill da beans!

My mother Rudene and aunt Rubitha inspired the name House of Rubi.  Also, my mother’s birthstone is a ruby.  Therefore, the House of Rubi brand color is deep red almost burgundy.  Burgundy is also my favorite color.  I’ve chosen to begin the brand with cocktail dresses because; Auntie Rubitha is what I like to call “Da Liberian Socialite!”  She styles herself in stunning African prints and steps on the scene looking fresh!  So I wanted to introduce House of Rubi with unique dresses designed for women who love to go out looking good.  I focus a lot on world culture and style due to my mother’s influence.  She used to travel to various countries on business trips (or so she claims), and return home with fabulous shoes from Europe and gorgeous outfits from Morocco!  As a child, I always begged to travel with her.  She would reply “No TJ I’m traveling for work.”  Well I’m just saying,” Her trips couldn’t have been all business if she had time to shop!!!”

One of my favorite House of Rubi dresses is the “TJ Dress.”

“TJ Dress” Mood Board

TJ DRESS MOOD BOARD

I enjoy creating collages of my inspirations

“TJ Dress” features a braided organza bodice attached to a rose applique skirt.

HOUSE OF RUBI- TJ DRESS

HOUSE OF RUBI - THE "TJ Dress"

This dress is very textured.  I enjoy manipulating fabrics to create woven, braided, or folded textures.

Rubi Girl Aisha

Rubi Girl Aisha models the "TJ Dress"

Another of my favorite childhood memory, is of my Grand Uncle.  We lovingly referred to him as “Uncou.”  He stayed in the Liberian country side, but would sometimes come to Monrovia to visit.  Uncou was a hard-working man.  In fact, I don’t remember ever seeing shoes on his feet!  He always wore worn out slippers with his feet coated in dust from long travels on foot!  His face was worn and weathered from the sun.  Everything about Uncou seemed so textured!  On his visits, he would bring bamboo and weave mats to sell.  I would sit for hours just watching him expertly lace cords in straight rows between bamboo strips to create a finished mat.

BAMBOO MAT

Bamboo Mat

So, I experimented with strips of  fabric for the “Mercedes Dress.”  I plan to create another dress called the “Ika Dress” using the similar woven strips technique.

HOUSE OF RUBI- THE MERCEDES DRESS

HOUSE OF RUBI- The "Mercedes Dress"

HOUSE OF RUBI- MODELS WEARING THE MERCEDES AND IMANI DRESS

HOUSE OF RUBI- The stunning models Barbara and Angelina wearing the "Imani" and "Mercedes" dresses

Check out the House of Rubi facebook page to see more designs!

http://www.facebook.com/HouseofRubi

House of Rubi

ROSES COLORS AND MEANINGS  

I learned this to feed my rose obsession. 😀

For more info on roses check out Morrison Gardens http://www.rkdn.org/roses/colors.asp

RED – Love, Beauty, Courage and Respect, Romantic Love, Congratulations, Courage & Passion

DARK RED & DEEP BURGUNDY – Unconscious beauty

RED (SINGLE) – I Love You

WHITE – Purity, Innocence, Silence, Secrecy, Reverence, Humility, Youthfulness, Heavenly, Happy Love

PINK – Appreciation, “Thank you”, Grace, Perfect Happiness, Admiration, Gentleness, “Please Believe Me”

DARK PINK – Appreciation, Gratitude, “Thank You”

LIGHT PINK – Admiration, Sympathy, Gentleness, Grace, Gladness, Joy, Sweetness

YELLOW –  Joy, Gladness, Friendship, Delight, Promise of a new beginning, Welcome Back, Remember Me,  Jealousy,

YELLOW WITH RED TIP – Friendship, Falling in Love

ORANGE  – Desire, Enthusiasm, Fascination

RED AND WHITE  – Given together, these signify unity

RED AND YELLOW – Jovial and Happy Feelings

PEACH – Appreciation, Closing the deal, Let’s get together, Sincerity, Gratitude

PALE PEACH – Modesty

CORAL – Desire

LAVENDER – Love at first sight, Enchantment

BLACK – Death, Farewell

BLUE – The unattainable, the impossible

SINGLE ANY COLOR – Simplicity, Gratitude, Utmost devotion

RED ROSEBUD – Symbolic of purity and loveliness

WHITE ROSEBUD – Symbolic of girlhood

THORN-LESS ROSE- Love at first sight

TWO ROSES ENTWINED TOGETHER- Marry Me

SIX ROSES – A need to be loved or cherished

ELEVEN ROSES – Assure the recipient that they are truly and deeply loved

THIRTEEN ROSES – Indicates a secret admirer

12 thoughts on “RUBI GIRL SHARES HER INSPIRATIONS!

  1. I am really impressed with your childhood memories of Liberia as you left at a very young age. Keep the images alive! Stay blessed.

  2. OMG! … I knew it! I should keep moving whenever you need me to stay still. ha ha ha… Looking at the sketch again, I think I really like it now ha ha ha… Yes, I can’t wait for “MY” dress… and w-e-a-r it!

    • LOL! IKES I knew I’ll put that sketch to use someday! Actually I have this great Idea for the sketches drawn of DA SOUL SISTAH (That’s what I’ve dubbed you and da girls) LOL Now I need to find a great fabric to create the IKA Dress 😀

  3. You are loved! And, I am humbled. I remember the red rose drawing! I too was fascinated by my skill at drawing a rose!
    You have talents, now let it be known to the WORLD!

Leave a Reply

